KDL Recommends For Kids > Readalikes (If You Like...) > If You Like Mo Willems

KDL Recommends

< Wet Dog! | Stuck >

The Day the Crayons Quit

The Day the Crayons Quit

ISBN: 9780399255373

Title: The Day the Crayons Quit

Author: Drew Daywalt

KDL Description:

E DAYWALT

When Duncan arrives at school one morning, he finds a stack of letters, one from each of his crayons, complaining about how he uses them.

Amazon Description:

Crayons have feelings too, in this funny back-to-school story!

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ Stuck, The Incredibly Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.