KDL Recommends > Staff Picks > July 2013

KDL Recommends

< Calling Me Home | Bootstrapper: From Broke to Badass on a Northern Michigan Farm >

Dani's Story: A Journey from Neglect to Love

Dani's Story: A Journey from Neglect to Love

ISBN: 0470591331

Title: Dani's Story: A Journey from Neglect to Love

Author: Diane Lierow,Bernie Lierow,Kay West

KDL Description:

BIOGRAPHY 921 LIEROW

“This is a fascinating account of a family that adopted a little girl who’d been so severely neglected that at age 7, she didn’t speak, wasn’t toilet trained, and still drank from a bottle. I found it a hundred times better than A Child Called It because rather than salacious details about the actual abuse, the story was more about how Dani’s adoptive family fell in love with her, fought to adopt her, and helped heal her.”—Susan at KDL’s Plainfield Township branch

Amazon Description:

The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents

In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani?and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, “I pretty.”

  • Dani’s story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg Times
  • The Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother ever
  • For readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope’s Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani’s Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget.