KDL Recommends > Staff Picks > LibraryReads Nationwide Staff Picks > November 2013 LibraryReads List

KDL Recommends

< The Cartographer of No Man's Land: A Novel | Death of a Nightingale (Nina Borg #3) >

The Raven's Eye: A Brock and Kolla Mystery

The Raven's Eye: A Brock and Kolla Mystery

ISBN: 1250028965

Title: The Raven's Eye: A Brock and Kolla Mystery

Author: Barry Maitland

KDL Description:

“The latest Brock/Kolla mystery begins with a sudden death on a London houseboat. Unusual setting, great plot, wonderful writing. This fabulous series is yet to be discovered by many American lovers of British police procedurals. Great recommendation for fans of Ruth Rendell, Elizabeth George, early Martha Grimes and Deborah Crombie.”
Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC

Amazon Description:

DCI David Brock and DI Kathy Kolla, of Scotland Yard, find themselves pulled into a case of murder, a mysterious death among the houseboats that line the canals around greater London, in Barry Maitland’s The Raven’s Eye.

DI Kathy Kolla of Scotland Yard is called in as a matter of course by the local Paddington police when a woman turns up dead in what appears to be an accident. On her houseboat, Vicky Hawks is found by one of her neighbors having apparently succumbed to carbon monoxide poisoning due to improper ventilation of the narrowboat’s heating system. But while the cause of death seems apparent and there’s no reason for Kolla to think otherwise, something about this death still bothers her.

Meanwhile, her boss, DCI Brock, is wrestling with harsh budget cuts and a new Commander who is determined to make fundamental changes to the system—including limiting resources devoted to investigations. Struggling against the limitations imposed by the new order at Scotland Yard, Brock and Kolla find themselves pulling at the loose strings in the death of Vicky Hawks, trying to find out who she really was, what she was up to, and how her death might be related to another earlier tragic accidental death.