KDL Recommends For Teens > Genre Fiction - Adventure and Suspense > Action and Suspense

KDL Recommends

< The Name of the Star | In Darkness >

Insignia

Insignia

ISBN: 0062092995

Title: Insignia

Author: S. J. Kincaid

KDL Description:

Insignia Series
SF TEEN KINCAID

Tom is recruited by the military to begin training as a combatant in WWIII.

Amazon Description:

Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won’t be able to put this book down.”—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid’s fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender’s Game.

The planet’s natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn’t seem like a hero. He’s a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom’s life completely changes. Suddenly, he’s someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there’s a price to pay…