Readalikes for “The Circle” by David Eggers

  Icon_print print      
51wto7fyuol_thumb
Feed
M.T. Anderson

SF TEEN ANDERSON

In a future where most people have computer implants in their heads to control their environment, a boy meets an unusual girl who is in serious trouble.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51fmlufodhl_thumb
Oryx and Crake
Margaret Atwood

ATWOOD
Maddaddam Trilogy

A novel of the future explores a world that has been devastated by ecological and scientific disasters.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51moioohkol_thumb
Company
Max Barry

BARRY

On his first day of training, Stephen Jones, a young recruit, reports to the Zephyr Holding Building, where he finds a company defined by its lack of clarity, a building numbered in reverse, an invisible CEO and a crisis over the theft of a donut, in a zany satire of corporate life.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51kqpcpgvxl_thumb
Machine Man (Vintage Contemporaries Original)
Max Barry

BARRY

Scientist Charles Neumann loses a leg in an industrial accident, which he sees as an opportunity to improve his body by creating better parts. Prosthetist Lola Shanks loves artificial limbs and sees Charlie as a man on his way to becoming completely artificial.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51be6sbnrol_thumb
Ready Player One: A Novel
Ernest Cline

SF CLINE

Immersing himself in a mid-twenty-first-century technological virtual utopia to escape an ugly real world of famine, poverty and disease, Wade Watts joins an increasingly violent effort to solve a series of puzzles by the virtual world’s creator.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41kqc_2b244pl_thumb
Generation A: A Novel
Douglas Coupland

COUPLAND

Generation A is set in the near future in a world where bees are extinct, until five unconnected people all around the world—in the United States, Canada, France, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka—are all stung. Their shared experience unites them in ways they never could have imagined.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41qhj0pbnyl_thumb
Next (Harper Fiction)
Michael Crichton

CRICHTON

Next is about a time when one fifth of all our genes are owned by someone else and an unsuspecting person and his family can be pursued cross-country because they happen to have certain valuable genes within their chromosomes. Fact and fiction blends into a tale of a new world where nothing is what it seems and a set of new possibilities can open at every turn.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51wqyupnnul_thumb
The Minority Report (Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick)
Philip K. Dick

SF DICK

Commissioner John Anderton’s clever use of the Precrime System, which uses people with the ability to see into the future and identify criminals before they can do any harm, is confronted with a serious glitch when his precogs identify Anderton himself as the next criminal and he must race against time to save himself.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
612-kdmpjel_thumb
Makers
Cory Doctorow

SF DOCTOROW

What happens to America when two geeks working from a garage invent easy 3D printing, a cure for obesity and crowd-sourced theme parks? Lawsuits against Disney are only the beginning in this major novel of the booms, busts, and further booms in store for America in the age of open source and its hero/hacker culture.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
Visit_thumb
A Visit from the Goon Squad
Jennifer Egan

EGAN

Working side-by-side for a record label, former punk rocker Bennie Salazar and the passionate Sasha hide illicit secrets from one another while interacting with a motley assortment of equally troubled people from 1970s San Francisco to the post-war future.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51tb30rmpzl_thumb
Parasite (Parasitology)
Mira Grant

SF GRANT

A decade in the future, humanity thrives in the absence of sickness and disease. We owe our good health to a genetically engineered tapeworm developed by the pioneering SymboGen Corporation. It’s been successful beyond the scientists’ wildest dreams, but now these parasites want their own lives and will do anything to get them.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41le8ej-fil_thumb
Brave New World
Aldous Huxley

CLASSIC HUXLEY

Huxley writes about a world of cloning, feel-good drugs, anti-aging programs and total social control through politics, programming and the media. When Lenina and Bernard visit a savage reservation, they experience how Utopia can destroy humanity.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51fe47nkmyl_thumb
The Unidentified
Rae Mariz

TEEN MARIZ

In a futuristic alternative school set in a shopping mall where video game-playing students are observed and used by corporate sponsors for market research, Katey “Kid” Dade struggles to figure out where she fits in and whether she even wants to.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
31bmi9gbjxl_thumb
1984 (Signet Classics)
George Orwell

CLASSIC ORWELL

1984 portrays life in a future time when a totalitarian government watches over all citizens and directs all activities.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51cvao32f9l_thumb
The Testament of Jessie Lamb: A Novel
Jane Rogers

ROGERS

A rogue virus that kills pregnant women has been let loose in the world and nothing less than the survival of the human race is at stake. Jessie Lamb is an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. As her world collapses, her idealism and courage drive her toward the ultimate act of heroism, but is she capable of understanding where her actions could lead?


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
510jnpkfu5l_thumb
Super Sad True Love Story: A Novel
Gary Shteyngart

SHTENYNGART

In a novel set in the near future, a beautiful and cruel woman tells Lenny Abramov that she is coming to stay with him. Lenny is excited enough to see the woman he met in Italy that the tanks and soldiers stationed New York City and the ongoing war with Venezuela can’t get him down.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41g1mqh33ll_thumb
Reamde: A Novel
Neal Stephenson

STEPHENSON

When his own high-tech start up turns into a Fortune 500 computer gaming group, Richard Forthrast, finds the line between fantasy and reality is blurred when a virtual war for dominance is triggered.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41euztr9vgl_thumb
Robopocalypse: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Daniel H. Wilson

SF WILSON

Two decades into the future, humans are battling for their very survival when a powerful AI computer goes rogue and all the machines on earth rebel against their human controllers.


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
Icon_print print Back to top of page