Staff Picks
Stay in touch with the personal favorites of the KDL Staff. Each title is handpicked.

You can also receive this list sent directly to your email each month — Sign up now!

  Icon_print print      
51yj9blkzhl_thumb
Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else
Dan Abrams

HUMOR ABR

”’Man Down’ by Dan Abrams compiles studies from universities that suggest our sexist ideas about women are wrong. Now, don’t think this is a feminist, anti-sexist book; Abrams is only suggesting certain stereotypes surrounding women are off-target, such as the idea that women are worse after a breakup and they are worse drivers than their male counterparts. Abrams does concedes that men are better at certain tasks, such as lifting and generally being taller and faster, but many views of women have been stunted by generations of stereotypes. Remember, this is written by a man who works in the legal industry. So ladies, if you are ever feeling down on yourself, check out this quick, light read as a pick-me-up.”
—Emily at KDL’s Cascade Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51l7ukyqd7l_thumb
The Hallowed Ones
Laura Bickle

HORROR TEEN BICKLE

“Katie is on the verge of her ‘Rumspringa,’ the time in Amish life when teenagers can get a taste of the real world. But the ‘real world’ comes to her in a form of darkness she never expected. Those Outside have been exposed to a contagion, one that turns them into blood-thirsty monsters. Now Katie and her community fight not only the darkness Outside, but the darkness within each of themselves. This was such an original, spooky, and enticing read. If you’re in the mood for a new kind of dystopian novel, pick this up.”
—Kelly at KDL’s Cascade Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
Pawn_thumb
Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion)
Aimée Carter

SF TEEN CARTER

“This is the first book in the ‘Blackcoat Rebellion’ by Michigan author Aimee Carter. This is a teen dystopian book, that gives you an insight of what it is like to be part of the ruling elite in the society. The story focuses on 18 year old Kitty who has lived in an orphanage her whole life and when you turn 18 you have to take a test to see where you rank in society and what your role will be. Kitty scores very low on the test but luckily she has remarkable eyes that catch the attention of the authorities. The Prime Minster of the country decides that Kitty is the perfect candidate to be masked and turned into his niece in order to replace her. He offers her a world she could never have achieved from taking the test. However she learns that the ruling family is often at each other’s throats and could care less about the common man, and that they will use propaganda in their favor to stay in power. This book is interesting because instead of the classic dystopian book fighting the power from the outside, Kitty has the chance to destroy the system from within its own power structure.”
—Craig at KDL’s Cascade Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51j-ef4sijl_thumb
A Covert Affair: Julia Child and Paul Child in the OSS
Jennet Conant

BIOGRAPHY 921 CHILD

“A gripping, complex tale of WWII espionage, Russian spies, and the devastation of McCarthyism, tied together by the woman who brought French cooking to the United States.”
—Mark at KDL’s Krause Memorial Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51aspv_2bmx5l_thumb
The Marriage Plot: A Novel
Jeffrey Eugenides

“Three college grads take tentative steps to adulthood in this tale of love and soul searching.”
—Patrice at KDL’s Grandville Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
61vycidvcil_thumb
The Gods of Gotham
Lyndsay Faye

MYS FAYE

“Maggie at Plainfield recommended this title to me (so you know it’s good!). It chronicles the beginning of the New York Copper Stars (the first organized police force, begun in 1845) and introduces you to reluctant Copper Star, Timothy Wilde, who must solve the apparent serial murders of children throughout the city.”
—Vanessa at KDL’s East Grand Rapids Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41zbawmcswl_thumb
The Museum of Extraordinary Things: A Novel
Alice Hoffman

“Alice Hoffman didn’t disappoint me with her newest historical fiction novel: ‘Museum of Extraordinary Things’. Her ‘extraordinary things’ are really extraordinary people in New York city in the era of Coney Island boardwalk curiosities (when it was NEW!) and an extraordinary photographer of the infamous Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire.
—Laura at KDL’s Plainfield Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51ch1q4ldbl_thumb
Hang Glider and Mud Mask
Brian McMullen,Jason Jagel

E JAGEL

“I want everyone to love this picture book. Two stories connect. You can read it in both directions. The illustrations are exciting and multi-dimensional. Kids and grownups can both love this beautiful book.”
—Trevor at KDL’s Grandville Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
Doctor_sleep_thumb
Doctor Sleep: A Novel
Stephen King

HORROR KING

“Danny Torrance is grown up. He is an adult alcoholic, drinking to keep the memories of the Overlook Hotel and his abusive father at bay. But his talents have not gone away. He can still ‘shine’ on occasion, and he has discovered a new talent that leads him into a fight between a young teen girl and a group of ancient beings.”
—Jim at KDL’s Kentwood (Richard L. Root) Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51f6nxvm7il_thumb
The Winter People: A Novel
Jennifer McMahon

“I loved this story. It’s one of the best ghost stories I have read to date. This author does an outstanding job of bringing the reader back and forth between present time and the early 1900’s. A young girl, Ruthie, finds a diary under the floorboards and delves into the mystery of her mother’s disappearance. She discovers others that are looking for those they lost and Ruthie has to decide whether she can stop the past for reoccurring.”
—Leisa at KDL’s Kentwood (Richard L. Root) Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51obymi7gol_thumb
Pioneer Girl: A Novel
Bich Minh Nguyen

“A gold brooch supposedly left in a diner in Saigon in 1965 courtesy of Rose Wilder Lane (daughter of Laura Ingalls Wilder) is the catalyst for a mysterious story that intertwines a modern day sleuth looking for clues to her ancestors past. Anyone who is a fan of the Little House series of books will enjoy this book!”
—Theresa at KDL’s Byron Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51ne6sxif_2bl_thumb
The False Prince: Book 1 of the Ascendance Trilogy
Jennifer A. Nielsen

SF TEEN NIELSEN

“The Ascendance trilogy by Jennifer Nielsen lives on the teen shelf but it’s an awesome story—orphan Sage is as cheeky as Percy Jackson but gets into a lot more trouble!”
—Deb at KDL’s Cascade Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51lmyhghuwl_thumb
Night Film: A Novel
Marisha Pessl

“Disgraced investigative journalist Scott McGrath seeks to find the truth behind the suicide of Ashley Cordova, the daughter of the reclusive and mysterious cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova. However, as he digs further into their lives, strange things begin to happen making McGrath wonder if he is caught in a real-life version of a Cordova film. Fans of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King will love this book!”
—Veronica at KDL’s Krause Memorial Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
515jnxdm1ql_thumb
The Bell Jar (P.S.)
Sylvia Plath

CLASSIC PLATH

“This is a particularly dark and difficult read- the main character, Esther Greenwood, is smart, talented, and would seem to have a lot going on for her, yet is mentally descending into depression, then into a subsequent breakdown. It’s very gloomy but there are so many beautiful and thought-provoking passages and it’s such a great example of what I love about fiction: the ability the author has to give you a perspective you never would have seen on your own.”
—Rosie at KDL’s Wyoming Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51a-_2bj_2bw_2b7l_thumb
The Good Luck of Right Now
Matthew Quick

“Populated by memorable, quirky characters and a funny and heartfelt story you won’t soon forget. I loved it!”
—Kris at KDL’s Comstock Park Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51ap7b3fzgl_thumb
Lockwood & Co. The Screaming Staircase
Jonathan Stroud

HORROR J STROUD

“I really enjoyed the altered world in this new ghost series. Set in London, there has been an increase in paranormal activity which requires kids to neutralize the threats since they are more sensitive to manifestations. Lockwood & Co. is a small agency trying to make a name for themselves so they are thrilled when they are given a job by one of the richest men in the country.”
—Beth at KDL’s Gaines Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51qpqoxplzl_thumb
Paperboy
Vince Vawter

HIST J VAWTER

“During a transformative July a seventh grade boy who struggles to get words out without stuttering encounters evil and understands more about love and the workings of the soul as he takes over a friend’s newspaper route in Memphis, his still segregated hometown.”
—Helen K. at KDL’s Spencer Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51aczwcqbfl_thumb
The Adventures of Tintin
FAM DVD ADV / PG

“Based on the very popular European children’s boy detective books back in yesteryear. The magic of Steven Spielberg at the production and direction whelm bring the pages to life in exquisite detail and potent nostalgia. With the music creation of master film composer John Williams woven throughout its cinematic splendor. This movie is a brilliant adaptation for those who grew up reading the Herge stories and for new comers of all ages.”
—Adam at KDL’s Service Center


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
515wo5wisll_thumb
The Returned
FOR DVD RET / NR

“In this eerie and intriguing series a group of people from a French village return from the dead. The series is so good it inspired both a book, ‘The Returned’ by Jason Mott, and an American TV show, ‘Resurrection.’”
—Meredith at KDL’s Byron Township Branch


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
Icon_print print Back to top of page