The top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love.
Find out more at www.LibraryReads.org.

  Icon_print print      
41dyhhghtsl_thumb
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory
Caitlin Doughty

“Part memoir, part exposé of the death industry, and part instruction manual for aspiring morticians. First-time author Doughty has written an attention-grabbing book that is sure to start some provocative discussions. Fans of Mary Roach’s Stiff and anyone who enjoys an honest, well-written autobiography will appreciate this quirky story.”
—Patty Falconer, Hampstead Public Library, Hampstead, NH


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51bdtuxoj0l_thumb
Station Eleven: A Novel
Emily St. John Mandel

“An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson.”
—Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51acqqfwrul_thumb
The Secret Place (Dublin Murder Squad)
Tana French

“French has broken my heart yet again with her fifth novel, which examines the ways in which teenagers and adults can be wily, calculating, and backstabbing, even with their friends. The tension-filled flashback narratives, relating to a murder investigation in suburban Dublin, will keep you turning pages late into the night.”
—Alison McCarty, Nassau County Public Library System, Callahan, FL


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51enzr2xfrl_thumb
Rooms: A Novel
Lauren Oliver

“A family comes to terms with their estranged father’s death in Oliver’s first novel for adults. Told from the perspective of two ghosts living in the old house, this unique story weaves characters and explores their various past connections. Great book!”
—Rachel Fewell, Denver Public Library, Denver, CO


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51bl0o1lu0l_thumb
The Children Act
Ian McEwan

“Judge Fiona Maye is at a difficult point in her marriage. Taking refuge in addressing other people’s problems in family court, Fiona extends herself more than usual, meeting a boy whose future is in her hands. McEwan is a masterful observer of human distress. With a simple story and flawed, genuine characters, this novel is poignant and insightful.”
—Jennifer Alexander, St. Louis County Library, St. Louis, MO


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41zwjvdcgkl_thumb
The Distance: A Thriller
Helen Giltrow

“Imagine a modern-day Robin Hood who deals not in money, but identity. Karla, the protagonist of The Distance, is a tech guru with a conscience, and the security of several nations dependent on her. This nuanced book kept me on the edge of my seat. I cannot wait until the next one comes out.”
—Cathy Scheib, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51hggt7ll_2bl_thumb
Horrorstor: A Novel
Grady Hendrix

“You know how some horror movies would work better as novels? Horrorstor is that book, perfectly capturing everything that is terrific about the horror genre. In its catalog-style pages, you’ll find a hefty dose of satire, as a Scandinavian furniture store is transformed overnight into a prison. With characters that you’re rooting for and terror that creeps up on you, Horrorstor will keep you up all night in the best possible way.”
—Donna Matturri, Pickerington Public Library, Pickerington, OH


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
41zj2k1i31l_thumb
The Paying Guests
Sarah Waters

“You can almost bet that a situation with long-term guests–paying or not–is not going to turn out well. This novel by Waters, who many know from her earlier books Tipping the Velvet and The Little Stranger, will keep you turning the page to see just how tense things can get, and how far fear and passion can push someone.”
—Elizabeth Angelastro, Manlius Library, Manlius, NY


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
51niwlytwml_thumb
The Witch with No Name (Hollows)
Kim Harrison

“In this book, Harrison ends her long-running Hollows series, featuring witch Rachel Morgan, vampire Ivy, and pixy Jenks. Rachel’s come a long way; now, she and her friends attempt the impossible and face their toughest battle yet. Harrison skillfully wraps up many plot points, leaving readers sad that the series is over but satisfied by its ending. Fans will surely cheer Rachel on and shed a tear or two.”
—Ilene Lefkowitz, Denville Public Library, Denville, NJ


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
510-kbos71l_thumb
Season of Storms
Susanna Kearsley

“Once again, Kearsley introduces you to a cast of characters who will quickly hold a special place in your heart. Celia and Alex mirror lovers from decades past, sharing similar secrets and passions. Flashbacks are woven seamlessly into the storyline, and the strong family component is handled beautifully, with surprising twists and turns.”
—Marianne Colton, Lockport Public Library, Lockport, NY


More info: Item Details | Catalog Link | Purchase from Amazon
Icon_print print Back to top of page