KDL Recommends For Kids > Award Winners and "Best of" Lists > Geisel Award Winners and Honor Books

KDL Recommends

< Benny And Penny in The Big No-No | I Want My Hat Back >

Penny and Her Marble

Penny and Her Marble

ISBN: 9780062082046

Title: Penny and Her Marble

Author: Kevin Henkes

KDL Description:

ER HENKES

Penny feels guilty after taking a beautiful blue marble that she sees in Mrs. Goodwin’s grass, but gets a pleasant surprise when she goes to return it the next day.

Amazon Description:

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor’s lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, this is just right for newly independent readers.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin’s yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.