Graphic Novels for Kids | Kent District Library adjustadnalign-centeralign-justifyalign-leftalign-rightambulanceanchorandroidangellistangle-double-downangle-double-leftangle-double-rightangle-double-upangle-downangle-leftangle-rightangle-upapplearchivearea-chartarrow-circle-downarrow-circle-leftarrow-circle-o-downarrow-circle-o-leftarrow-circle-o-rightarrow-circle-o-uparrow-circle-rightarrow-circle-uparrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-uparrows-altarrows-harrows-varrowsasteriskatbackwardbanbar-chartbarcodebarsbedbeerbehance-squarebehancebell-obell-slash-obell-slashbellbicyclebinocularsbirthday-cakebitbucket-squarebitbucketboldboltbombbookbookmark-obookmarkbriefcasebtcbugbuilding-obuildingbullhornbullseyebusbuyselladscalculatorcalendar-ocalendarcamera-retrocameracarcaret-downcaret-leftcaret-rightcaret-square-o-downcaret-square-o-leftcaret-square-o-rightcaret-square-o-upcaret-upcart-arrow-downcart-pluscc-amexcc-discovercc-mastercardcc-paypalcc-stripecc-visacccertificatechain-brokencheck-circle-ocheck-circlecheck-square-ocheck-squarecheckchevron-circle-downchevron-circle-leftchevron-circle-rightchevron-circle-upchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-upchildcircle-o-notchcircle-ocircle-thincircleclipboardclock-ocloud-downloadcloud-uploadcloudcode-forkcodecodepencoffeecogcogscolumnscomment-ocommentcomments-ocommentscompasscompressconnectdevelopcopyrightcredit-cardcropcrosshairscss3cubecubescutlerydashcubedatabasedeliciousdesktopdeviantartdiamonddiggdot-circle-odownloaddribbbledropboxdrupalejectellipsis-hellipsis-vempireenvelope-oenvelope-squareenvelopeerasereurexchangeexclamation-circleexclamation-triangleexclamationexpandexternal-link-squareexternal-linkeye-slasheyeeyedropperfacebook-officialfacebook-squarefacebookfast-backwardfast-forwardfaxfemalefighter-jetfile-archive-ofile-audio-ofile-code-ofile-excel-ofile-image-ofile-ofile-pdf-ofile-powerpoint-ofile-text-ofile-textfile-video-ofile-word-ofilefiles-ofilmfilterfire-extinguisherfireflag-checkeredflag-oflagflaskflickrfloppy-ofolder-ofolder-open-ofolder-openfolderfontforumbeeforwardfoursquarefrown-ofutbol-ogamepadgavelgbpgiftgit-squaregitgithub-altgithub-squaregithubglassglobegoogle-plus-squaregoogle-plusgoogle-walletgooglegraduation-capgratipayh-squarehacker-newshand-o-downhand-o-lefthand-o-righthand-o-uphdd-oheaderheadphonesheart-oheartheartbeathistoryhomehospital-ohtml5ilsinboxindentinfo-circleinfoinrinstagramioxhostitalicjoomlajpyjsfiddlekdl-lab keykeyboard-okrwlanguagelaptoplastfm-squarelastfmleafleanpublemon-olevel-downlevel-uplife-ringlightbulb-oline-chartlinklinkedin-squarelinkedinlinuxlist-altlist-ollist-ullistlocation-arrowlocklong-arrow-downlong-arrow-leftlong-arrow-rightlong-arrow-upmagicmagnetmalemap-markermars-doublemars-stroke-hmars-stroke-vmars-strokemarsmaxcdnmeanpathmediummedkitmeh-omercurymicrophone-slashmicrophoneminus-circleminus-square-ominus-squareminusmobilemoneymoon-omotorcyclemusicneuternewspaper-oopenidoutdentpagelinespaint-brushpaper-plane-opaper-planepaperclipparagraphpausepawpaypalpencil-square-opencil-squarepencilphone-squarephonepicture-opie-chartpied-piper-altpied-piperpinterest-ppinterest-squarepinterestplaneplay-circle-oplay-circleplayplugplus-circleplus-square-oplus-squarepluspower-offprintpuzzle-pieceqqqrcodequestion-circlequestionquote-leftquote-rightrandomrebelrecyclereddit-squareredditrefreshrenrenrepeatreply-allreplyretweetroadrocketrss-squarerssrubscissorssearch-minussearch-plussearchsellsyservershare-alt-squareshare-altshare-square-oshare-squareshareshieldshipshirtsinbulkshopping-cartsign-insign-outsignalsimplybuiltsitemapskyatlasskypeslackslidersslidesharesmile-osort-alpha-ascsort-alpha-descsort-amount-ascsort-amount-descsort-ascsort-descsort-numeric-ascsort-numeric-descsortsoundcloudspace-shuttlespinnerspoonspotifysquare-osquarestack-exchangestack-overflowstar-half-ostar-halfstar-ostarsteam-squaresteamstep-backwardstep-forwardstethoscopestopstreet-viewstrikethroughstumbleupon-circlestumbleuponsubscriptsubwaysuitcasesun-osuperscripttabletablettachometertagtagstaskstaxitencent-weiboterminaltext-heighttext-widthth-largeth-listththumb-tackthumbs-downthumbs-o-downthumbs-o-upthumbs-uptickettimes-circle-otimes-circletimestinttoggle-offtoggle-ontraintransgender-alttransgendertrash-otrashtreetrellotrophytrucktryttytumblr-squaretumblrtwitchtwitter-squaretwitterumbrellaunderlineundouniversityunlock-altunlockuploadusduser-mduser-plususer-secretuser-timesuserusersvenus-doublevenus-marsvenusviacoinvideo-cameravimeo-squarevinevkvolume-downvolume-offvolume-upweiboweixinwhatsappwheelchairwifiwindowswordpresswrenchxing-squarexingyahooyelpyoutube-playyoutube-squareyoutube
The Alto Branch will be closed Tuesday, Aug. 20, and the Byron Township Branch, Wednesday, Aug. 21, for staff training.

Recommendations

Graphic Novels for Kids

Primary tabs

Dog Man by Dav Pilkey
GRAPHIC JE DOG
George and Harold create a new comic book hero in Dog Man, a crimefighter with the head of a police dog and the body of a policeman, who faces off against his archnemesis Petey the cat.
Mary Anne Saves the Day: Full-Color Edition (The Baby-Sitters Club Graphix #3) by Ann M. Martin
GRAPHIC J BABY-SITTERS
Raina Telgemeier, using the signature style featured in her acclaimed graphic novels Smile and Sisters, perfectly captures all the drama and humor of the original novel!
Awkward (Berrybrook Middle School) by Svetlana Chmakova
GRAPHIC J AWKWARD
After shunning Jaime, the school nerd, on her first day at a new middle school, Penelope Torres tries to blend in with her new friends in the art club, until the art club goes to war with the science club, of which Jaime is a member.
El Deafo by Cece Bell
BIOGRAPHY GRAPHIC JNF BELL
Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this graphic novel memoir, Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful and very awkward hearing aid.
Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
GRAPHIC J ROLLER
A graphic novel adventure about a girl who discovers roller derby right as she and her best friend are growing apart.
Invisible Emmie by Terri Libenson
J LIBENSON
Crushes. Humiliation. Drama. MIDDLE SCHOOL. This is the story of two totally different girls--quiet, shy, artistic Emmie and popular, outgoing, athletic Katie--and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .
The Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell
GRAPHIC J CARDBOARD
Follows the adventures of a group of neighborhood children who create costumes from cardboard and use their imagination in adventures with knights, robots, and monsters.
Phoebe and Her Unicorn (Phoebe and Her Unicorn Series Book 1) by Dana Simpson
GRAPHIC J PHOEBE
The story begins when 9-year-old Phoebe Howell, a girl in the fourth grade, skips a rock across a pond and accidentally hits a unicorn in the face. Freed from her own reflection, the unicorn – named Marigold Heavenly Nostrils – gives Phoebe one wish, which she decides to use by making the unicorn her best friend.
Brave (Berrybrook Middle School) by Svetlana Chmakova
GRAPHIC J BRAVE
The charming world of Berrybrook Middle School gets a little bigger in this highly anticipated follow-up to Svetlana Chmakova's award-winning Awkward with a story about a boy who learns his own way of being brave!
The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O'Neill
OVERSIZE GRAPHIC J TEA
From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The Tea Dragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in the enchanting world of tea dragons.
Anne Frank's Diary: The Graphic Adaptation (Pantheon Graphic Library) by Anne Frank
BIOGRAPHY GRAPHIC JNF FRANK
The only graphic biography of Anne Frank's diary that has been authorized by the Anne Frank Foundation and that uses text from the diary--it will introduce a new generation of young readers to this classic of Holocaust literature.
The Dragon Slayer: Folktales from Latin America: A TOON Graphic (TOON Graphics) by Jaime Hernandez
TALES GRAPHIC JNF HER
A collection of three Latin American folktales retold in graphic novel form.
The Stonekeeper (Amulet, Book 1) by Kazu Kibuishi
GRAPHIC J AMULET
After chasing after the tentacled monster that kidnapped their mother, Emily and Navin find themselves in a magical but dangerous world of man-eating demons and shadowy enemies, where they must learn to control a powerful amulet given to them by their inventor grandfather.
Sheets by Brenna Thummler
GRAPHIC J SHEETS
Marjorie Glatt feels like a ghost. A practical thirteen-year-old in charge of the family laundry business, her daily routine features unforgiving customers, unbearable P.E. classes, and the fastidious Mr. Saubertuck who is committed to destroying everything she's worked for.
Drama by Raina Telgemeier
GRAPHIC J DRAMA
Callie rides an emotional roller coaster while serving on the stage crew for a middle school production of Moon over Mississippi as various relationships start and end, and others never quite get going.
New Kid by Jerry Craft
GRAPHIC J NEW
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real,
Max and the Midknights by Lincoln Peirce
SF J PEIRCE
Max and a group of friends dubbed the Midknights go on a quest to rescue the Kingdom of Byjovia from the mean King Gastley!
Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party by Nathan Hale
HISTORY US 19TH GRAPHIC JNF HAL
Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales books are a cheeky take on American history, but they are also sophisticated graphic storytelling that help bring the events to life in ways that simple prose could not. His latest book, The Donner Dinner Party, takes on a subject that has horrified and fascinated the public since it happened and not only dramatizes the events but puts them into perspective, often using maps and charts to illustrated the fate of the pioneers.
Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware The Kitten Holy (1) by Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis
GRAPHIC J LUMBERJANES
Best friends Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley spend a fun summer at Lumberjane scout camp where they encounter yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons while solving a mystery that holds the fate of the world in the balance.
A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel by Madeleine L'Engle
GRAPHIC J WRINKLE
A graphic novel adaptation of the classic tale in which Meg Murry and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg's father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government.